Shepherd’s Pie

This hot weather is still amazing me. To celebrate it I went and hid myself away in Meadowhall, trying unsuccessfully, to purchase a winter coat. Mr S said the ones I tried on reminded him of undertakers. I said that it would turn freezing before I got one. I’m probably going to be right. I did buy a couple of things for work though.

When I got home I made shepherd’s pie.

Heat some oil and fry 2 chopped onions until softened. Add some lamb mince and brown.

Stir in some flour then add 2 diced carrots, tomato pureé, worcestershire sauce, dried thyme, fresh chopped rosemary and beef stock. Give it a good stir, season, bring to the boil then simmer for about 30 minutes. Add some water if needed.

Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 190ºC (Fan) then cook & prepare your mash.

Make your pies. Fork the mash over the mince mixture and top with some grated cheese. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes. I served it with a good dollop of ketchup.

pie pie2

WARNING! Eating one of these followed by some cake will result in a stuffed contented feeling but you will be unable to move. This is proper comfort food, more suited to a wintery day I must say. I also had a pumpkin spiced coffee this morning. In the sun. I’m all confused!

You might also have noticed I finally bought some new plates. YAY!

I have some leftover mince that I have frozen and will use to make Shepherd’s jackets.

This was dinner… 6th October 2013.

2 thoughts on “Shepherd’s Pie

Any thoughts?

