Home Made Gnocchi with Saffron Prawns & Caramelised Onions

I woke up with a slight hangover headache this morning. Strong beers and wine don’t mix. Luckily, when Mr S set off for the market I got up, showered and felt much better. I gave the kitchen an autumn clean from top to bottom then set about making cake and home made gnocchi. Not bad eh?

I’ve been wanting to make my own gnocchi for a long time now as I really do love those little balls of potatoey dumplingness you get from the supermarket so I thought that making my own could only improve on the beauties. (If the Gnocchi Lovers Promotion Board need me – here I am.)

I did quite a bit of online investigation for the best way to do it. Here is what I did:

Approx 1kg of red potatoes (roughly the same size)

250g of plain flour (+ extra for dusting)

2 eggs (beaten)

Rock salt

Fine salt

Pinch of nutmeg

Place your whole potatoes (pricked all over) on a layer of rock salt on a baking tray into a 180ºC (fan) oven. Bake until cooked through – about 45 mins to an hour depending on size.

Remove from the oven. If you have asbestos hands you can remove the potato from the skin immediately. If not, get someone with asbestos hands to do it for you. Or if you are like me, wait a little while then faff about with kitchen paper and hot potatoes JUST because you are hungry and dying to eat the skins.

When the potato has cooled slightly, scatter your flour onto the work surface with a pinch of salt and a pinch of nutmeg.

Rice the potatoes into the flour. If you don’t have a ricer, push them through a fine sieve. But seriously, get a ricer, they are well worth having for delicious creamy mash.

Now at this point you should make a well and add your eggs. Don’t do what I did and mix it without then wonder how your mixture is going to crumble when you try to form your gnocchi, then have to improvise with a doughy well, getting egg everywhere. Just don’t.

I managed to form a soft dough in the end.

Re-clean the work surface and dust with flour. Flatten the dough into the approximation of a square about 1½cm thick then cut into strips about 1½ wide. Roll each strip into a sausage shape & cut into 1cm segments. Mine were probably double this size, ‘probably’ a little on the large side. I ended up cutting mine in half as I put them in the pan.

Dust with flour then holding the gnocchi on your middle finger, press the top with a fork for a slight indent.

I put them in the fridge whilst I made my cake.

To make the prawn recipe:

Melt some butter and a little oil in a frying pan. Add a large sliced onion and some soft brown sugar. Cook until golden brown. Remove and set aside.

Cook the gnocchi in batches in boiling, salted water. Don’t overfill the pan. When they rise to the top, give them about 20 seconds longer and then remove.

Cook raw prawns in the onion pan then add the onions, some crème fraîche, paprika & saffron. Gently heat and when the mixture starts to simmer, fold in the gnocchi, season with salt and pepper then serve with torn basil and parmesan shavings.

Apparently you can freeze any remaining uncooked gnocchi but must cook it from frozen. I left it in the fridge & had to throw it.

gnocchi

I must admit I was a little dubious about my gnocchi but this whole dish came together perfectly and was an absolute treat.

This was dinner… 5th October 2013.

As I made this in October and it was a new food adventure I thought it would be perfect to add to this months Growing Edge which aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month it’s hosted by Alice at Nom Nom Cat. Go and check it out!

our-growing-edge-badge

 

 

4 thoughts on “Home Made Gnocchi with Saffron Prawns & Caramelised Onions

Any thoughts?

