Italian Vegetable Bake

After meat, meat and bean casserole for dinner yesterday I went meat free today.

I hate that bloody advert that insinuates that to eat meat free once a week you need something that pretends to be meat in your dish. I couldn’t give meat up – chorizo, bacon, chorizo, lamb, chorizo, pork etc but I am not averse to a good meat free meal. I just don’t GET the meat substitute thing.

This BBC Good Food veggy bake hit the spot and was another one pot that didn’t take too much effort.

Put a tin of chopped tomatoes, a sprinkling of dried oregano (I didn’t have any fresh) a good pinch of chilli flakes, a bashed garlic clove & some seasoning into a casserole dish and simmer it for a few minutes.

Tip out two thirds of the tomato mixture into a jug then layer with half of your sliced aubergine, courgette & tomato then chopped roasted red peppers from a jar into the casserole dish. Sprinkling with torn basil as you go.

Layer with slices of baguette rubbed with a garlic clove then put pieces of mozarella onto the bread. Cover using another third of the tomato sauce.

Layer with your remaining vegetables. Tip in the rest of the sauce then top off with more of the bread and mozzarella. Sprinkle with more basil and oregano. Stick the lid on and cook in a 160ºC (fan) preheated oven for about 45 minutes.

Remove the lid and pop it under the grill for a few minutes.

vegbake2 vegbake

Also, after I inspired someone to  cook last week I got a message from my friend Lynne whom I had inspired to bake. She made the cake I made here. This is one of the reasons I started to blog in the first place. Lynne – It looked lovely!

This was dinner… 30th September 2013.

5 thoughts on “Italian Vegetable Bake

  1. That looks nice, someone posted up a pic on my facebook wall of a Australian Asian branded Vegetarian ham, that was chicken flavoured, surely if you aren’t going to eat meat why bother to eat something pretending to be meat..

Any thoughts?

