Garlic Roast Lamb with Hotpot Potatoes

When I look at all the beautiful blogs I follow and see those fantastic stage by stage photographs I’m quite envious. I wish I had the patience. Sometimes I don’t even have the patience to make sure my photo is good. I’m disappointed that this one didn’t capture the hotpot potatoes well. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

Whilst my dough decided it was not going to rise, I got on with this.

It’s a beautiful day outside but I’ve committed myself to the kitchen. There has been a typically British reaction to this increase in temperature – the smell of BBQ is all over the neighbourhood. No matter – I’m ruining a summer dress and dancing around the kitchen to some good music.

Half a lamb, minus some chops, has been sitting in my freezer for over a month now so it was time to get a leg going. I called Mr S away from his gardening to cut it for me as it hadn’t been prettified for shoppers and still looked very leggy to me. This freaks me out a little.

As usual, here’s the recipe from BBC Good Food if you want to follow it to the letter.

Preheat the oven to 170c (fan).

Cut small pockets into the lamb and stuff each one with slices of garlic and rosemary leaves. Pop it in a roasting tin and cover with foil.

Melt some butter in a pan and fry sliced onion until soft and golden. Pop them in a second roasting tin.

Finely chop some cheap cuts of lamb and brown in the onion pan then add to the roasting dish.

Add sliced carrot, about 2 tablespoons of plain flour and some seasoning and give it a stir.

Thinly mandolin/slice some potatoes and arrange on top.

In your frying pan, add some stock and a good glug of Worcestershire sauce and bring to the boil then pour over your potatoes. Sprinkle with chopped rosemary and cover with foil.

Put both trays in the oven and bake for an hour.

Uncover the lamb and bake for 15 minutes, then uncover the potatoes and bake for 30 minutes more, adding a little more stock if you want to.

Take out the lamb to rest for 15 minutes. Leave your potatoes in the oven but if you are happy enough with them, turn the oven off.

Drain any fat from the lamb roasting dish and stir in some flour. Add some water and stir until you have a nice gravy.

We served it with blanched, chopped runner beans.

Lamb

There was a bold claim of the best Sunday dinner ever from Mr S. He could be right. It definitely makes up for my bread blunder, I can tell you that for certain.

This was dinner…22nd September 2013.

Any thoughts?

