Rib-eye Steaks with Roasted Roots & Parsley Pesto

Once I got the cleaning out of the way today I had a wonderfully lazy Sunday. I spent most of it reading book 4 of Game of Thrones. I’ve been either watching it or reading it since March now so Mr Martin best get a move on. I need book 6 in about a month.

In between reading, lazying (oh I did paint my nails) and long luxurious bathing I managed to make this from BBC Good Food.

Quarter some carrots, shallots and celery and chop up a celeriac.

Toss them in oil, season and roast for about 45 minutes.

Meanwhile make a pesto by whizzing up a small bunch of parsley, some unsalted cashew nuts and a garlic clove.

Transfer to a bowl and stir in some parmesan, extra virgin olive oil and a good squeeze of lemon.

When your roots are about done, cook your rib-eyes to your liking and leave to rest for a few minutes.

We served this with some of the pesto on top of the steaks and Mr S was feeling artsy so added a couple of pesto quinelles.

DSC_6679

It was lovely but I think I’ve gone off beef.

This was dinner…15th September 2013.

Any thoughts?

