Chicken Liver Bolognese

Another one from Jamie’s new book.

When Mr  suggested this I was a) surprised – the last time he had chicken livers he didn’t enjoy them and b) unsure – it just didn’t scream eat me. I decided to go with it though.

The livers came in a pot from the market and when I took the lid off, as they still held the pot shape, Mr S looked like he was regretting his decision. I put them in a bowl to soak whilst I prepared everything else.

Pop this lot in a food processor – onion, carrot*, garlic, mushrooms, rosemary leaves, fennel seeds & chilli flakes then pulse.

*I used up all my carrots so I substituted it with leftover celery – there is ALWAYS leftover celery.

Fry some finely chopped smoked bacon then add some oil and the pulsed vegetables. Fry for about 15 minutes until softened, adding water if you need to.

Now this next bit looks like there’s been a massacre in your processor – drain your livers and pulse then scrape into the pan. Wash immediately to take away the appearance of a murder scene.

Add a tin of drained and rinsed lentils, add some tomato purée and balsamic vinegar and give it a stir. Add a chicken stock “cube” – I used the Knorr stock pots – and some boiling water. Bring to the boil then simmer.

After about 25 minutes, cook your pasta then drain and save some cooking water. Jamie used spaghetti but I had some huge pasta “rings” that I wanted to use. Boy are they filling. Every mouthful was like a mini lasagne.

Season your bolognese then mix with the pasta and serve with grated parmesan.

DSC_6732

If you are not a fan of liver please don’t be put off. For a start they are dirt cheap. As they more or less break down in the sauce you don’t get that liver texture and the richness of them gives the bolognese a great flavour. I was tempted to take some to work for someone I know to be a liver-hater to try but decided against it. I stand by the fact that she would never have known.

This was dinner…18th September 2013.

Any thoughts?

