Chicken Stew & Dumplings

So in between all the other stuff, I managed to make this stew from the Save with Jamie book.

As I mentioned, I cooked the chicken the previous day and used some in the Singapore noodles. What was left, and believe me it was a lot, was used in this.

Finely slice some smoked bacon and fry off in olive oil in a casserole pan.

Add a large onion, 3 carrots, a potato and ½ a celeriac, all roughly chopped to the same size. Mr S did this for me.

Throw it all in the pan with some thyme sprigs and a couple of bay leaves. Cook for about 10 minutes giving it a stir from time to time.

Add the leftover chicken and about a tablespoon of plain flour, give it another stir. Add chicken stock, obviously I used the one I made in my previous post.

Give it a good seasoning and a quick stir and let it simmer (I did it lid-on) for 20 minutes.

Whilst it simmers, make the dumplings:

Using 250g of self raising flour, grate in 125g of cold butter. I think the idea of grating it is a grate great idea. It’s a bit quicker to get to ‘breadcrumb’ stage.

When you have your crumb consistency, add about 100ml of cold water & form into a bowl of dough. Shape into 12 balls and add to the pan for the last 20 minutes.

Jamie ovens it but I left it on the hob and it was fine.

Image

It was delicious, we both went back for second helpings.

This was dinner…8th September 2013.

2 thoughts on “Chicken Stew & Dumplings

  1. This is wonderful. Takes me back to my childhood! My mom used to make chicken and dumplings all the time and I loved it. Unfortunately I never did get her recipe. 😦 So, now I am happy to see yours and I am going to make it. Nicely done.

Any thoughts?

