Channelling my Inner Domestic Goddess

Considering I spent almost 7 hours watching TV yesterday I felt very bright when I got up this morning. I had a plan which started with a gym visit but I scrapped that and decided to get straight into the kitchen.

First up, I’d saved the carcass from the chicken I cooked yesterday and made a quick chicken stock for the Stew & Dumplings we were having later.

Image

Next up – Herbs. I’ve been threatening to do this for ages as I’m always throwing herbs away (wasteful I know). Inspired by Jamie Olivers new book I finally did it – I preserved my herbs in oil. They are in alphabetical order in the tray so I know what’s what when time comes to take them out.

Image

I then made a pie, what is more important is I made my own pastry for the pie. More about this on a regular ‘this was dinner’ post.

Image

I don’t think the Masterchef judges would give me good points for presentation but Mary Berry would definitely have told me I didn’t have a soggy bottom!

Then I baked this delicious Peach, Pistachio and White Chocolate Pound Cake. Mr S said it’s the best cake I have ever made. Then again he always says that.

It didn’t come without it’s moments. I ran out of plain flour so Mr S popped out and got some, bringing me back some gladioli which I love as they look so striking in a vase. I think he felt guilty that I was stuck in the kitchen.

He then had to pop out again when I realised I forgot to buy the white chocolate. He’s the best!

I’m not going to go through the recipe as I never give ingredients measurements and baking really requires it but obviously the link is above.

I let it cool whilst I made the stew and dumplings, again this will have it’s own post.

The icing is made of white chocolate, greek yoghurt and soft cheese and is absolutely divine, this was Mr S’ input as I was flagging.

We popped it in the fridge to firm up the icing and had some with a cup of coffee once the kitchen was cleared.

Image

Trust me, you will not be disappointed if you bake this cake. I think Mr S was right.

All in all it was a tiring but fully satisfying day.

4 thoughts on “Channelling my Inner Domestic Goddess

  1. OMG. that looks awesome, I’m well impressed.that looks really professional.
    and you put me to shame with the herbs, i’ve meaning meaning to do that and a roll of garlic herb butter for the freezer too.

    1. Thank you so much!

      I can’t tell you how long I’ve been meaning to freeze the herbs. I’ll probably forget about them and they’ll end up languishing in the freezer until the end of time.

Any thoughts?

