Baked Brie & Mushroom Tart

I thought this was going to be one of those dinners that made you wonder why you chose it. As finishing time at work approached I just kept thinking, why?

This tart decided to prove me wrong in a BIG way.

It’s from an old copy of a Delicious magazine and can be found here.

The recipe states to use 2 x 375g packs of ready rolled puff pastry but I already had one of those blocks in the freezer so I just used that, as you can see, it was plenty big enough.

I used chestnut mushrooms and some wild ones from a jar I had left over.

Melt some butter in a pan and add the mushrooms, fry on a high heat for a few minutes. Add chopped garlic, rosemary and seasoning a stir for a couple of minutes then leave to cool.

I followed the recipe and poured boiling water over the spinach (in a colander) then refreshed with cold water and squeezed out the excess but I would just pop it on top of the mushroom mixture and stick a lid on to leave it to wilt whilst the mixture cooled next time.

I rolled out my block of pastry and put my spinach on one half, leaving a border, then topped with with mushroom mixture, then slices of brie. Brush the border with egg then fold over the pastry and seal at the 3 edges.

Score the pastry, brush with beaten egg and cook in the oven at 180ºc (fan) – the recipe chills it for a while first but I was too hungry – for 15-20 minutes.

Image

There is easily enough left for tomorrow. Mr S had already made sandwiches for work so it will be dinner again rather than a work snack.

Image

This was dinner…27th August 2013.

2 thoughts on “Baked Brie & Mushroom Tart

Any thoughts?

