Turkey Meatball Caesar Salad

Oh my goodness! I’m on book 3 part 2 of Game of Thrones and I’m finally getting to stuff that hasn’t happened on TV. My lips are sealed (unless you are my husband who is now telling me to shut up) but it’s so exciting, it’s hard to put down. If it wasn’t for Mr S these posts might be fish finger sarnies every day.

As much as I love meatballs, this one didn’t do much for me. I probably cooked the meatballs a bit too long as they were a tad dry. Not only that, the seasonings in it were a bit off for me. I’m not sure about the buttermilk mixture either.

Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t awful, I’ve just had better.

This one came from the BBC Good Food magazine for September. I noticed also that 5 Kinds of Rice made her version here, hers is a a little bit more colourful than mine.

Mix mince, onion, chives, buttermilk, garlic, parmesan, tabasco and Worcestershire sauce well and shape into small meatballs (about 20).

Cook for 8 minutes then tear a ciabatta into pieces and place between the meatballs then cook for about 8 minutes or until your meatballs are done.

Mix buttermilk, parmesan, tabasco, Worcestshire sauce, lemon juice and seasoning in a bowl.

Arrange shredded lettuce in a bowl then toss in some of the buttermilk mixture. Add the meatballs and croutons then drizzle with some more.

If I was to make these again I wouldn’t throw all of the sauces into the mix, I’d probably leave out the Worcestershire and instead of buttermilk I’d use yoghurt or sour cream and as 5 Kinds of Rice did, I’d add tomatoes.

Meatballs

They made a hell of a mess on the baking tray too.

This was dinner…16th August 2013.

2 thoughts on “Turkey Meatball Caesar Salad

  1. mine were dry too, but I didn’t actually follow the recipe, I just looked at the picture, I thought it was the parmesan I put in it, so when I made the patties I added yogurt which seem to make them more moist..
    oh and I bought sauce rather than make it..
    ooops.. lol
    btw, I know nothing about game of thrones, would you recommend the books?
    I’m half way through Arthur. C. Clarkes Garden of Rama, which is awesome.

    1. I would recommend the books. I’ve watched the series too and the casting is great. I’m rather annoyed that I don’t have books 4 onwards. I tried to pick up something else to read on train but can’t get into it as my mind is on those lol.

      Can’t say I have read any ACC. I’ll check it out.

Any thoughts?

