Chicken & Sweet Potato Curry

Today I bought a new vacuum cleaner. I didn’t realise how hard it was to choose, but I should. I can’t count how many I’ve had, like irons and ironing boards too. Oh and kettles. I can think of better things to spend my money on!

I then went upstairs and rearranged the room we use as an office. We also said goodbye to some old DVD’s that we will never watch again. Mr S popped off to the supermarket for spinach for this recipe as the one I had in the fridge was unusable. He was gone a while and went via Blockbuster.

So after a couple of episodes of Seinfeld we watched Olympus Has Fallen, Go Gerard Butler! A good old romp of an action movie. Then we made this. Then we watched Oblivion, which was OK (I’m not much of a Tom Cruise fan).

Cook sliced onion over a medium heat until the onion is soft. Add pieces of chicken thigh. I picked up 2lb on offer at the market and convinced the chicken lover that is Mr S that 1lb in the recipe would be more than enough and the other could be frozen to use in a later recipe. Read tomorrows entry for what happened there!

Stir in a 165g jar of Korma paste and some garlic, if you are like us, add some chilli flakes for a bit more heat.

Add chopped sweet potato, a tin of chopped tomatoes and a bit of water. Bring to the boil, simmer with the lid on for about 20 minutes then remove the lid and simmer for about another 10.

Season then add the spinach and stir through when wilted.

Image

I served them with my 50p flatbread specials of which I thought there would be some left to freeze but we stuffed our faces. Mr S took the leftovers to work on Monday.

This was dinner…17th August 2013

Any thoughts?

