Thai Green Curry

I took today off work to take my cat to the vets. I have a panic every single time I go these days. He’s old, he has 3 legs and he has hyperthyroidism. I took him for a check up at the weekend and he’s losing weight but eating me out of house and home.

Mr S was unable to take the day off work so my Dad offered to take me, just in case the unthinkable should happen.

Luckily my worries were outweighed by the metal that my cat is made of and thankfully, the only thing he needs is a higher dosage of his tablets for his hyperthyroidism.

Mum and Dad offered to take me out for lunch and as none of us could decide where we wanted to go, I offered to make lunch instead. I just told them to choose what they wanted and Dad paid for the ingredients.

Mum was impressed, obviously they know I can cook but can’t it still surprised them that I would rather cook myself than bother going out.

They decided on curry but weren’t sure whether they wanted prawn or chicken. In the end I made  a prawn cocktail for starters and chicken curry for main. They bought a chocolate and cherry cake for dessert, I wasn’t baking as well.

It was just a simple prawn cocktail with a little lettuce and tomato, no tomato for Mum, she doesn’t like them. I like to put a dash of cayenne in my sauce.

Lacking a bit in presentation, I was hungry.
Lacking a bit in presentation, I was too hungry.

The curry was made by frying off some sliced onion and chopped garlic. I had some jungle curry paste left so I used that one, it was roughly about 2 tbsp, stir fry for a minute or 2.

I added a sprinkle of chilli flakes then added a tin of coconut milk, a small amount of chicken stock & about 6 Kaffir lime leaves. Gently bring to the boil and then and the chicken and  simmer until the chicken is cooked through.

Stir in some fish sauce, some soy sauce, lime rind, a little palm sugar if you have it, brown sugar if not and some coriander (I forgot the coriander).

thaicurry
Tasted better than it looks – it’s missing coriander green.

I served it with some flatbreads made with the 50p bread mix from Morrisons and Mum and Dad also had rice.

My photos are pretty poor for this meal but believe me, it was exceptionally tasty. Here’s a photo of my hard as nails cat hard at work.

"It's been a tough day"
“It’s been a tough day”

I saved a portion for Mr S and remembered to stick some coriander in his. He thought it was delicious as well.

This was dinner…13th August 2013.

2 thoughts on “Thai Green Curry

    1. Thanks. He’s good at showing new people his disability but can run pretty quickly when the food comes out 😉

      I suppose the nerves keep you on your toes! My Dad would most definitely tell me if my food was rubbish. Ha he couldn’t help it.

Any thoughts?

