Mexican Pizza with Corn Chips & Some Other One.

We had managed to be left with cabbage parcels for our Friday night dinner. Neither of us fancied them & Mr S advised that he would like pizza. It’s easy on a Friday night to opt for a couple of beers and the fridge or freezer section, especially after a gym sesh but once Mr S e-mailed me this and this I knew I’d be happy to make them,

Now don’t get me wrong, the salami, tomato, bocconcini and basil pizza WAS delicious. It’s just that the Mexican one was AMAZING, I’m a massive fan of Mexican food anyway.

For my bases I used a bread mix I found in Morrisons for 50p. Cheap and no waiting involved. To get a nice base I always put my baking tray in the oven then roll my base out, transfer it to the hot tray and build the pizza. Who needs a pizza stone?

Whilst I made the bases, Mr S cooked the half pound of mince and seasoned it with cumin, cayenne and a little salt and pepper. He then roughly mashed avocado with lime juice in one bowl and chopped tomato and coriander in another.

For our tomato sauce we used passata, not too much, I don’t like mine drowning in sauce. Sprinkle with cheddar then top with the mince. We cooked ours in a 200º oven for 12 minutes then we spread refried beans on top and popped it back in the oven for about another 5 minutes.

Remove from the oven, top with the avocado mixture and corn chips. then spoon over the tomato & coriander mixture. Top with a dollop of sour cream and some coriander leaves.

Serve immediately but be warned, this one is messy!

Image

It’s also very filling so we cooked the other one and only ate a slice each, finishing it off the next day.

Spread the base with salami, slices of tomato and torn bocconcini, cook until almost done then add torn basil for the last couple of minutes. This one is a little easier to eat.

Image

This was dinner…9th August 2013.

2 thoughts on “Mexican Pizza with Corn Chips & Some Other One.

Any thoughts?

