Italian Meatballs

My love for meatballs just rumbles on!

I was gutted to have to throw away a massive amount of pork and beef that we had bought to make meatballs whilst we were in France. The fridge had played up and it was bloody boiling anyway so there was no saving it. What a waste! Never mind the fact that I didn’t get to eat meatballs either!

It’s only recently I have become a massive meatball fan and I don’t think I’ve made Italian meatballs (which is originally how I associate them) for about 8 years.

This is from the Good Housekeeping – Healthy Family Recipes book again but I’ve adapted it. I didn’t grill my meatballs and I didn’t put wine into the meat mixture.

Mix fresh breadcrumbs, pork mince, fennel seeds, chilli flakes, garlic, parsley and seasoning well then form into balls (I like mine quite small). As I always insist with meatballs, chill them for a little while.

Fry 2 finely chopped shallots in a little oil until starting to soften. Add a bashed garlic clove and some chilli flakes. Add a glass of red wine and reduce. I always buy a decent bottle as it’s no good finishing off a bottle of crap wine is it?

Add passata and a little bit of stock and bring to the boil. Reduce to a simmer.

In another pan, brown your meatballs then pop them into the tomato mixture and add some olives and some parsley, basil and/or oregano (I only had parsley). Give it all a good stir then keep simmering until the meatballs are cooked through.

Cook some spaghetti – I brought this back from France too – it tastes just the same you know 😉

Drain the pasta and divide between the plates. Top with your meatball mixture, some parmesan and a bit more parsley for garnish and enjoy.

meatballs

This was dinner…3rd August 2013.

4 thoughts on “Italian Meatballs

  1. I love meatballs. I wouldn’t trust anyone that doesn’t. Meatballs are great to make in the days leading up to shopping day. If you have a neglected onion or garlic, that’s fine, but no biggie if you don’t either.

Any thoughts?

