Hot and Sour Soup

It’s turkey take 2 today. I must admit I wasn’t looking forward to soup but this was delicious.

Fry some thin strips of turkey (you could use tofu for a vegetarian option).

Add grated ginger and sliced spring onions and stir fry for 2-3 minutes.

The recipe in the book uses Thai red curry paste but I used Morrisons jungle curry paste which is apparently Thai anyway but is definitely not red. Add 2 or 3 tablespoons to the pan and give it a stir.

Add some rice (the recipe uses wild but I used basmati) give it another stir then add some vegetable stock. I also added some mixed mushrooms from a jar that my cousin gave me – I think some of them scared her. Bring to the boil then reduce and simmer for about 15-20 minutes.

Add some mangetout and cook for another 5 minutes.

Just before serving add some fresh lime juice and then sprinkle with coriander.

hotandsour

This was dinner…2nd August 2013.

Any thoughts?

