Swedish Meatballs

I had the day off work today. So how productive was it? Have I made that shopping trip? No. Did I try to start a tan? No. I waited in for the Oven Butler, did some cleaning, some blogging & watched Wallander (the Swedish one).

Yes. I did say Oven Butler. He comes every 6 months and makes my oven look like new. I swear we got an extra couple of years out of the last oven thanks to him.

These are the 3rd version of Swedish meatballs I’ve made. I think I might be a bit addicted. These were a speedy ones. Make your meatballs with pork mince, finely chopped onions, dill & an egg yolk plus seasoning of course. Now I know I don’t usually put egg in, but I did in this instance as it all felt like it needed holding together.

Mix some more chopped dill with sour cream.

I popped everything in the fridge then went and watched another episode of Wallander & waited for Mr S to finish work. It really is quite good. I’m a massive crime fan so I might have to purchase Henning Mankell’s books. If they are half as good as Jo Nesbø’s Harry Hole series I’ll be in heaven (or is that hell?)

Stick these in a lightly oiled pan and fry for 15-20 minutes. Turn off the pan and add the sour cream mix. Serve with pasta, I had to use two as I did have enough of either my chitarra or fusillata casareccia.

I sprinked with some parmesan for good measure.

Image

This was dinner…8th July 2013.

10 thoughts on “Swedish Meatballs

  1. These look so yummy… and I like the combination of Wallender and the Oven Butler! Have you read any books by the Icelandic writer Viktor Arnar Ingolfsson? I think he’s tremendous !

  2. I buy Swedish meatballs from Ikea, ha ha. I have just come back from Ikea with some meatballs. Hope you enjoyed the meatballs. Have a lovely week!!

      1. I enjoyed them. They are very nice. I ate them with the Lingo berry sauce and sometimes I use the Lingo Berry on my bread as well!

          1. they are more like cranberries, sweet-tart. I find the sauce at Ikea more sweet. You should try it. We always have lunch at Ikea as it’s 40 minutes drive and my kids love eating there. Plus the food prices are very reasonable at Ikea.

  3. These look fantastic! My husband is Swedish and will no doubt drool should I surprise him with these…

    1. Thanks. I’m sure he would enjoy them. I loved the Jamie Oliver ones more but as a quicker substitute these were still good. If you do make them for your husband and he disagrees with their ‘Swedishness’ I would love to know.

Any thoughts?

