Sesame Halloumi Parcels

Today has been bliss. I woke up early-ish but lounged in bed watching Stand by Me (again) then onto the Sopranos. We’ve had the box set for a few years but never got around to watching it. Sadly we were promtped by the untimely death of Mr Gandolfini.

When I saw this dish in May’s Good Food magazine I thought they looked fantastic. I’m quite partial to a vegetarian meal so we decided to give them a go.

Mix a finely chopped deseeded red chilli, some olive oil, about a tablespoon of tahini, a handful of chopped parsley and the zest of a lemon in a bowl. Slice up some halloumi and toss in the mixture.

Take a pack of filo sheets and cut the sheets in half so you have squares. Brush the square with oil.

Take 2 slices of the halloumi, put them at the top of the filo in the centre & sprinkle with sesame seeds. Fold in from the sides, brush with more oil, sprinkle with more sesame seeds and fold up to make a parcel. Brush the top with egg, sprinkle with more sesame seeds and pop on a lightly oiled baking tray. Repeat until your halloumi has been used up.

These take about 20 minutes in a 180º (fan) oven. Whilst they are baking, make your sweet potato mash. Cook the potatoes in boiling salted water. The recipe calls for the sweet potato to be whizzed in a processor with 2 tablespoons of tahini and 2 tablespoons of oil but I not fond of my mash being that consistency so Mr S got his mash on then just mixed a little less tahini and oil into the potato with a spatula.

Image

I was really looking forward to these but to be honest I was a little disappointed. Mr S said that he would have preferred to have just griddled the halloumi but I didn’t mind the fact they they were wrapped in filo. It’s just that there was something missing. The recipe serves up a salad with them which I didn’t bother with but I don’t think that was it. And don’t say MEAT all you non veggies.

I liked the addition of the tahini to the sweet potato mash though.

This was dinner…23rd June 2013.

2 thoughts on “Sesame Halloumi Parcels

  1. I keep seeing recipes with halloumi, especially grilled, but i’ve never had it, I think now is the time to do so, seeing as i’m trying to go vegetarian at least one meal a month this is probably good inspiration..
    I never watched the sopranos, Mr 5 always did..

Any thoughts?

