Smoked Mackerel Salad with Fennel, Apple & Beetroot

I think I’m single-handedly keeping the fennel industry going this month. Not so the smoked trout industry which is what this salad should have contained. I couldn’t get any anywhere.

No matter, mackerel worked just as well. This was easy…

Slice fennel, apple and beetroot and mix together with some chopped dill & seasoning in a bowl.

Lightly grill your mackerel.

Make a dressing of natural yoghurt, horseradish sauce, chopped dill and a dash of water.

Serve the fennel salad, top with pieces of the mackerel and drizzle with the dressing.

Divine.

Image

This was dinner…13th June 2013.

4 thoughts on “Smoked Mackerel Salad with Fennel, Apple & Beetroot

  1. I’ve have desperately tried to like fennel but I just don’t get it, I don’t mind the subtle flavour of the seeds, but the plant is too much for me..
    that mackerel looks gorgeous though, my favourite fish..

Any thoughts?

