Crab & Sweetcorn Chowder

Another BBC Good Food recipe. It’s just so easy to do a shopping list when you choose them. It means I can sort it at work.

This is a simple, tasty recipe which I followed (almost) to the letter.

Chop an onion, slice a leek (separate the white from the green) & chop 2 carrots. Put it all, except the green part of the leek, into a large pan with a good splash of the stock (I used chicken) then cover & cook over a medium heat. Keep an eye that there is enough water in it. When I went to stir mine it was starting to stick to the bottom of the pan.

I added 2 medium diced potatoes. Add the green leek and most of the stock. Cook until tender. I left the lid on for most of the time (10 minutes on, 5 minutes off). I added a tin of sweetcorn rather than frozen, purely because I had a tin in.

At this point I thought there might be a sparse amount of crab. As this would easily feed 4 I split the chowder before I put the crab in for tonight’s portion.

Remove from the heat, add your crème fraîche and season well.

Sprinkle with chives. I need to start putting chives on everything, my herb garden is full of them.

crabchowder

This was dinner…3rd June 2013.

6 thoughts on “Crab & Sweetcorn Chowder

  1. Oooh I love chowder, and this looks delish! I agree about the Good Food site. It’s a little addiction of mine to always check their daily recipe – they’re usually so …well, Good!

  2. I love corn chowders, and this looks darn tasty! The man-friend won’t eat corn if he can see it, so if I made this, I would have to ladle out a portion for him before adding the corn and creme fraiche to the rest of the soup. But I’ve done it before; I refuse to miss out on good food.
    Then I sit in front of him groaning endlessly about how good it is and how he doesn’t know what he’s missing, because I’m a total b#tch, lol.

Any thoughts?

