Chorizo & Seafood Stew

This was supposed to be a seafood stew but I only got the bag of mixed seafood out of the freezer and not the piece of salmon. We had some chorizo sitting around in the fridge so it seems silly to let it go to waste.

OK I know chorizo lasts but if it’s in the fridge for more than a few days, I consider that a waste! It’s too good to hang around in a fridge.

I had no hand in this at all, it was all down to Mr S. I said he could guest post for me if he wanted, I know he’d do a great job. I think his silence meant no.

This is what he did:

Slice the chorizo and fry it for a few minutes, remove from the pan.

Cook an onion and some chopped garlic in oil until softened.

Pop in a tin of plum tomatoes and chop with a wooden spoon, add a good old splash of balsamic vinegar and throw in a good spoonful of chipotle paste. It’s a spicy one. Add a stock cube (or stock pot in our case).

Add some sliced roasted pepper from a jar.

Add in some cubed potato.

Season it, then give it all a stir and add as much water as you require. Bring to the boil then simmer until your potatoes are almost cooked through.

Add a bag of mixed seafood and cook for about 5 more minutes.

Put your chorizo back in.

Scatter some parsley and serve.

seafoodstew

It seems I can never get my red food right. Aargh! Any advice would be appreciated.

This was dinner…30th May 2013.

Any thoughts?

