Chicken Lahmacun

The fun of doing this blog is not only determining what dishes to cook but looking at everyone else’s wonderful recipes and ideas. I decided that at least once a month I should try to either create, or be influenced by a dish someone else made.

As one of my favourite things is a delicious lamb flatbread by Rick Stein (see this You Tube link) and Mr S just loves chicken, I decided to make a chicken flatbread based on the lovely 5 Kinds of Rice’s recipe Chicken Harissa Fougasse.

For my flatbread I just did the basic wrap recipe from Paul Hollywood – Bread. I’ve ditched the bread mix I normally use. This is just as easy and far cheaper.

Just before you are ready to roll (pardon the pun) put your oven on at 180ºc and pop in a couple of baking trays.

More or less using 5 Kinds of Rice ingredients of peppers, chilli, onion, herbs and garlic, I too blitz mine in the blender. With the lamb one I just pulse it but I was over enthusiastic and gave if a full on blender onslaught. If I’d have wrung it out in a tea towel I’m not sure there would have been much left!

As this point, 5 Kinds of Rice adds chopped strained tomatoes, sumac, ras el hanout and harrisa paste. As my mixture was so wet I decided I was just going to serve mine with tomatoes, I didn’t have any sumac, I forgot the ras el hanout so I just added harissa.

I minced 2 chicken breasts and mixed them with my pepper/spice mix. This all made quite a  wet mixture so once I rolled out my dough it was easy to spread it around the base (as far up to the edge as you can – it will shrink). It was at this point I remembered my ras el hanout so I sprinkled some on.

Cook the flatbreads in the oven for about 10-12 minutes. Once ready to eat I sprinkled mine with some lemon juice and scattered some parsley. I  added some halved baby plum tomatoes. Mr S also stuck the leftover blue cheese from yesterday on his. I would have loved some feta but I didn’t have any in.

Roll them up and stuff your face. Repeat.

flatbreads

Thanks 5 Kinds of Rice – these were tremendous.

This was dinner…1st June 2013.

3 thoughts on “Chicken Lahmacun

  1. that’s looks bloody gorgeous, and really thin and crispy, I’m going to make that again, tonight i’m going to attempt a similar thing to your pea lasagne thingy, I’m not quite sure what I’m going to do, but i hope it looks as good as yours..x

      1. lol, yes, I’m starving, I hope what ever I come up with turns out ok, I’d rather me having sausage, egg and chips to be honest, but I’m not going to cop out and not make an effort..

Any thoughts?

