Roast Onion & Bacon Salad

There are some times when I write out the list for the week & it all seems a great idea, then when the time comes I can’t understand why I chose it. This was one of those times.

I’d been out of the house 14 hours . I was in a bad mood due to a dodgy bag hook in Sheffield Train Station toilets which resulted in a smashed bottle of wine and a ruined bag and book. Once on the train I saw a complete jobsworth conductor call the police on some kids (for no reason I felt – but I’ll not bore you with the details). The last thing  I was bothered about when  I got in was a salad, but a salad it was and I was proved completely wrong.

The recipe was in the May edition of Good Food. Mr S made it, I just whisked up the dressing.

Cook your bacon how you like it. We like ours dry fried, in strips so it stays crisp and cooks evenly. The recipe uses smoked streaky but I just used unsmoked.

Cut a couple of onions into wedges, drizzle with a bit of oil and season. Roast in a 200ºc oven for about 15 minutes.

Cook some frozen peas in boiling water and then rinse in cold water.

Make a dressing using ½ tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil, 1 teaspoon of sherry vinegar, 1 teaspoon of dijon and some seasoning.

At this point the recipe says to put the bacon in the onion dish (with the onions to one side) along with some crouton-sized pieces of bread but obviously we did our differently. Pop the bread in the onion dish, drizzle with oil and cook for a further 10 minutes(ish).

Put some shredded lettuce and the peas into your serving bowl. Add some dressing and toss. Arrange the onion and bread on top, then scatter your chopped bacon. Drizzle with some more of the dressing.

baconsalad

Very enjoyable.

This was dinner…29th May 2013

Any thoughts?

