Pie, Real Chips & Mushy Peas

I bought the pie from Marr Grange Farm Shop. Considering it’s quite local to me I’ve never been. Wow, it gets very busy, although we were there at midday. I prefer to be done and dusted by ten.

This beef & stilton pie came recommended and was tasty, the pastry was lovely.

I dug out my deep fat fryer & double cooked the chips. About 10 minutes at 130ºC then when you are almost ready to eat, about 4 minutes at 190ºC. Make sure you don’t overfill your fryer, do them in batches.

The peas were of the frozen variety, you add the water & some seasoning. I find they take a bit longer to cook than the packet says.

I made some extra gravy, the pie had plenty of its own so I just mixed what was left in with mine to cover the chips etc.

piechipspeas

I think I would have liked some mushrooms in the pie, Mr S would have liked it a bit more stilton-y.

19th May 2013.

Any thoughts?

