Swedish Meatballs with Celeriac & Spinach Rice

After the success of the Malmo Meatball Subs I’d been craving meatballs again. I think I might have to make it my aim to try different meatballs as often as possible.

I’ve discovered 2 new food loves in the past year. One is chipotle the other is celeriac.

These are from Jamie’s 15 Minute Meals. I can’t say this lot took 15 minutes but I’m sure if you put me up against the clock I’d manage it.

These are 50/50 pork and beef mince. When the meatballs are cooked you add a good swig of vodka & light it. I was upstairs grabbing the camera when I heard a noise from the kitchen, what is it with men and fire? I missed my moment as Mr S had become all 21st century caveman.

You then add cranberry jam (I used sauce) and cream to them. Don’t consider serving them with anything other than the celeriac & spinach rice, the whole dish is just perfect. It’s served with a dollop of yoghurt.

I’ll be having these again as I doubled up on the meatballs and froze some.

DSC_4732

11th May 2013.

3 thoughts on “Swedish Meatballs with Celeriac & Spinach Rice

  1. When I worked in a pub kitchen for a while, the Celeriac came in boxes with the marketing slogan “Celeriac – The Ugly one!” which always put me off a bit 🙂

Any thoughts?

