Shredded Sesame Chicken Pancakes with Spiced Plum Sauce

These are in this months addition of Good Food magazine. Mr S keeps asking why I carry on buying it when I have so many recipes but I just can’t help myself. I really should just subscribe. I normally pick it up on the way to work in the morning and sit on the train with a growling stomach.

I’d love to tell you in detail how I made these but I’ll be vague as a) I don’t have the mag at the moment & b) I made it under the influence of Yorkshire’s 1st sight of warm sunshine & a little bit of vodka/wine (not in the same glass).

The chicken was covered in 5 spice (a home made one) and slow roasted in the oven (about 2.5 hours if my vodka addled memory serves me right).

Mr S suggested buying a plum sauce but I was insistent that I should make my own. Oh! My! I’ll never buy a plum sauce EVER again. Plums, 5 spice, red wine vinegar, sugar & cornflour I think (it’s close enough), stuck in the oven and absolutely amazing.

It was also served with a cucumber salad, I put some soy in it but this wasn’t suggested in the recipe.

The chicken was drizzled with honey and sesame seeds. My only disappointment – I had picked up the the wrong pancakes so we used tortillas instead. Still utterly delicious, I can’t recommend this enough. Give it about a month & it will be on their website.

The photo is a bit dark, you’ve heard the excuse…

chicken

4th May 2013.

3 thoughts on “Shredded Sesame Chicken Pancakes with Spiced Plum Sauce

  1. Sounds delicious, I must say, my stomach is rumbling right now, I think its time for an early lunch. Thanks for stopping by.

Any thoughts?

