Chorizo, Cabbage & Shallot Rice

“What’s for tea?”

“Cabbage rice.”

“Cabbage rice, are you for real?”

“Yep. With chorizo in it.”

“Oh, you should have said. Lovely!”

How I imagine a conversation about eating cabbage and rice might go.

Cook your required amount of rice.

Pop 2 finely sliced shallots and a clove of chopped garlic into a pan on low heat with a bit of salt and pepper, sweat until softened.

Add some finely sliced chorizo and stir occasionally for a couple of minutes.

Add finely sliced savoy cabbage & a dash of stock, stir and stick the lid on for a few minutes until you get the cabbage cooked to your liking.

Stir in the rice then season as required, I also add a little hot paprika for good measure.

Image

It is exceptionally tasty and we both went back to polish off the leftovers which were supposed to be our work lunches for the following day.

2nd April 2013.

2 thoughts on “Chorizo, Cabbage & Shallot Rice

  1. Ah, don’t you hate it when lunch for the next day gets eaten by past you? Future you will curse you tomorrow! We did the same thing last night. I was hoping for 2 portions of leftovers for lunch today but there was only one so I gave it to my husband. I adore cabbage, but I think it needs a little bit of PR or popularity. Maybe if you called it Savoy and Rice?

    1. I was a little harsh with the heading! I love it too, my mum can’t stand it so I suppose that’s how I see it as being hated. I may use your past me/future me in the future, I love it. Full credit will be given to you of course!

Any thoughts?

