A Day Out in Manchester

We decided to book train tickets to Manchester to do a bit of shopping and get a nice bite to eat. We have been loads of times but wanted to try somewhere new to eat. I’m on twitter and I follow a food blogger who lives in Lancashire so to decide where to eat there was only one thing I could do, ask her.

Initially she recommended a place called Solita in the Northern Quarter, she went on to recommend more but by then, both Mr S and myself had sold ourselves on their menu. You can check out her blog here.

Our shopping trip was unsuccessful, our nice bite to eat wasn’t. It’s a small place so a bit of a wait is to be expected, they have a bar downstairs so it’s no great problem and well worth the wait.

I had the Sweetcorn Hushpuppies:

Image

Mr S had the Ancho Chilli Chicken Wings:

Image

One of my biggest annoyances is when restaurants clear your starter plates and plonk your main course down before you have had time to digest, Solita are thankfully not guilty of this. It’s a good job, because they brought out my KFB burger:

Image

This contains melted Monterey Jack cheese, jalapenos, bourbon BBQ sauce and Kentucky fried bacon.

I didn’t photograph the burger Mr S had but he chose the Catalan – melted manchego cheese, chorizo, roast peppers and roast tomato alioli. We also had sides of chow chow slaw and cornmeal fried red jalapenos which were not as hot as I would have liked.

My only problem? I didn’t wear elasticated pants.

29th March 2013.

Any thoughts?

