Merguez with Halloumi and Flame Roasted Peppers

This recipe comes from Nigella Express so quick cook, done & sat down watching TV right? Wrong! Today when we got home from work we could smell gas.

Thankfully National Grid turned up in half hour and sorted the problem so it wasn’t all bad,  I had been dreading them telling me it was a major issue.

Anyway, onto this meal. My flame roasted peppers were not exactly flame roasted. I bought these little beauties from our local Doncaster deli  – Scicluna. Caramelised peppers are the future. I will most definitely be buying these again, such wonderful flavour.

20130325-132503.jpg

You just throw the Merguez sausages, slices of halloumi and the peppers into a roasting dish, drizzle with oil and sling it in the oven. Nigella uses garlic oil which I didn’t have so I just bashed a couple of garlic cloves and put them in instead, using olive oil.

In my hurry to eat, I stuck my (fan) oven on at 220 degrees and forgot to turn it down so my halloumi was more than a little overcooked but still edible. All in all, great flavours and I would recommend it with less chewable halloumi.

20130325-132427.jpg

21st March 2013.

Any thoughts?

