Killer Kedgeree

I love a kedgeree. It’s normally my Boxing Day meal as it’s great hangover fodder and the perfect antidote to the richness of Christmas day and all it entails.

20130321-112223.jpg

This one comes from Jamie’s 15 Minute Meals and is made with brown rice & smoked fish, I used haddock. My favourite kedgeree uses white rice and smoked salmon but I thought I’d give this one a go for a change. It pains me to say that I forgot to add the peas. How could this travesty happen? I did add avocado. I went out of my way to find one on Saturday and paid £1.39 for it but forgot to use it with my turkey burgers so there was no way I was wasting it.

The recipe uses precooked rice but I just cooked mine from scratch then popped it in the pan and stirred it all through. I didn’t bother with the side of green beans that the recipe suggests. I would definitely have this again. It had a nice kick to it, that must be what the ‘killer’ bit means. I was disappointed with my eggs again, the over-cooking is becoming a bit of a habit. The chilli/yoghurt sauce was the perfect accompaniment.

20th March 2013.

Any thoughts?

