Vegetable Tart with Quails Eggs

On 15th July 2015, This was Dinner

This was very nearly just a vegetable tart, I had a job getting hold of some quails eggs. Luckily, the lovely Sophie at work was passing a Waitrose so I asked her to pick me some up. It’s not like Waitrose were not going to supply quails eggs is it? (I’ve since noticed them in my local deli.)

I had a lovely afternoon at a spa with my sister, auntie and cousin today. This, along with a body wrap and head massage will completely knock you out. How I managed to make this is unknown.

Preparing:

  • Finely chop some shallots
  • Finely chop a leek
  • Prep some asparagus
  • Beat an egg
  • Defrost some frozen peas
  • Preheat the oven to 180ºc (fan)
  • Get a ciabatta bread mix, frozen broad beans, single cream, quails eggs, cream cheese, golden caster sugar, butter, oil & seasoning ready

Making:

Prepare the bread mix according to the instructions and leave to double in size.

Pop a little oil and butter in a pan and cook the leeks until softened. Remove and set aside.

Cook the broad beans in boiling salted water. Drain and refresh then remove the outer skins.

Cook the asparagus tips in boiling, salted water for a couple of minutes. Drain and refresh.

In a blender, whizz up the peas with the cream cheese. Add the egg and shallots with a pinch of sugar and some seasoning. Add a little cream.

Roll out the dough and press down in the centre to create a little crust. Pop onto a baking tray then pour over the cream cheese mixture. Top with the vegetables and then crack the quails eggs over the top.

Bake for 20-25 minutes.

TWD_1507_Summer_Veg_tartI would have used fresh broad beans as per the recipe if I could have. I also couldn’t get my hands on baby leeks. My dough was a little on the large side too. I can’t say I disliked this but I also can’t say I particularly liked it either. There was a lot going on!

The recipe can be found in the July edition of BBC Good Food.

Any thoughts?